The Guide To The British Parliamentary Structure

The UK Parliament is the heart of the political system in Britain. There are two parliamentary legislative bodies one is called the House Of the Lords and the other House of Commons. The former is known to have three types of members, the Bishops from the Church of England, nobility, and Judges who are the Law Lords. The members of the House of Lords are not generally elected but appointed by the queen in consultation with the Prime Minister. While the members of the house of commons are democratically elected from the various political parties, the elections for the House of Commons are held every five years. The prime ministers and the leaders of the opposition are drawn from the commons.

The members of the House of Lords are required to review the legislation initiated by the House of Commons. They also have the power to propose amendments and also have the suspensive veto, i.e. ability to stop an offensive action unilaterally. However, if there is persistent use of the veto, it can be overturned by the House of Commons. The lords and commons both meet at the Palace of Westminster in London.

One of the famous names in the list of political parties in England is the Conservative Party who was in power for two-thirds of the twentieth century. In 1997 it lost elections to the Labour Party, and since then it has been in the opposition. The labour party had won the elections under the leadership of Tony Blair. Apart from this, there are Liberal Democrats the third largest party in the UK parliament. Apart from these, there are parties from Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland who rule the political scene in the UK. The list includes the Scottish National Party, Welsh Labour, Plaid Cymru, Democratic Unionist Party and many more. England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland despite having different cultural identities are politically united.